top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Word of the Year

2017 was the first year that I had my word. It happened by accident in the middle of January. I was chatting with my wonderful friend and discipler, Megan, when I realized

one word kept coming to mind in all my goals for the year: intentional.

Thus, it became my word. Intentional.

And what a wonderful word it was. I worked on doing things intentionally. Learning about by disciples, intentionally. Spending time with my roommates, intentionally. Praying, intentionally.

Did I fail at times?? You bet. There were weeks that went by when I forgot I had a word. Yet, there were also days were I constantly thought about my word. How could I incorporate it more into my life? How was it changing me? What was God calling me to do?

Through good times and bad, I kept my word. God showed me when I needed to be more intentional.

For 2018, I wanted another word. I thought about it for awhile. What word truly encompasses this year that I'm looking forward to, yet also just so unsure about? I played around with Jennifer Fulwiler's "word of the year" game, but none of my results clicked for me. Watch? Grow?

I had a Holy Hour on New Year's Eve. I went in with the intention to pray about my word, to reflect on the year, and to contemplate what the new year was going to be. That's when it hit me. My new word. Hope.

Hope.

It just felt right. 2018 is going to be a time of change. A time of growth. I struggle with missing all my Bearcat buddies, my Newman family. I wonder on the daily why God returned me to Wichita. It holds an unknown that I just cannot describe. It lacks real relationships for me. Yet, in 2018 I begin my dietetic internship. I get to be in one of my best friend's wedding and I get to spend more time with my wonderful nephews.

Hope is what is going to get me through this difficult year. I have hope that I will become a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist. I have hope that I will build relationships in Wichita. I have hope that I will become the favorite aunt :)

I have hope that God has a plan for me. I have hope that 2018 will be a good year.

What will be your word of the year?

What do you hope for in 2018?


bottom of page