top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

One pot meal: Chicken, Broccoli, Rice

A RECIPE!!!! at last :)

This recipe I created last summer.... so only 6 months later am I sharing it beyond the sticky note I got. But I don't know what took me so long. This dish is great. Quick to put together, quick to clean up and a family pleaser. And you probably already have everything for it!

The inspiration for this recipe came from "Maple Chipotle Chicken", so like that popular sweet n' spicy thing going. Oh I remember the testing. I thought about making it a marinade to grill chicken, a salad..... but I'm so glad I decided on the skillet meal. Since it is approximately 15 d

egrees outside now grilling is definitely not an option. And who really wants a cool salad in this freezing weather? So a warm, simple skillet recipe it is.

Without further ado... I present to you,

Skillet Maple Chipotle Chicken and Rice

(I guess i need to work on the title... )

2 lbs. chicken breasts (boneless, skinless)

2 cups broccoli florets

1 cup rice

1/4 cup chicken broth

Sauce:

3/4 cup ketchup

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp paprika

2-3 chipotle peppers (whole) + some juice

1 tsp olive oil

  1. Cube chicken.

  2. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium low heat.

  3. In a small bowl, combine all sauce ingredients together.

  4. Place chicken in warmed skillet. Pour sauce over chicken. Stir so chicken is evenly covered. Cook for about 7 minutes on medium high heat or until chicken is no longer pink.

  5. Add in rice and broth. Let simmer on medium high heat for 20-25 minutes or until rice is tender and most of liquid is absorbed.

  6. Add in broccoli and cook for an additional 8 minutes.

  7. Put about 1 lb. of the chicken in a Tupperware container.

  8. Enjoy the remaining chicken, rice, and broccoli.... save the extra chicken for another recipe later this week!

And that's it. Let me know how you liked it in the comments.... or if you have any creative name suggestions :)

bottom of page